17th Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium

 Namur, Belgium    July 3-8, 2022

Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis 2022

Nomination Criteria

The Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis is awarded every other year by Janssen Research & Development LLC in conjunction with the Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium to an organic chemist who has made a significant contribution to the field of organic synthesis. The prize consists of a medal, a citation as well as 20.000 Euros.


Nomination of scientists of public or private universities, government institutions or industry / pharmaceutical companies will be taken into consideration based on the following criteria:

  • Candidates should be under the age of 50 years old when the jury makes its decision.
  • Members of the Prize Jury cannot be candidates, nor can they propose candidates.
  • Candidates cannot be suggested by Janssen employees.
  • The prize cannot be given twice to the same person.


  • The nomination period for the 2022 prize is October 1 - December 31, 2021.
  • Fill out the attached nomination form and submit to 
  • The Janssen Prize will be announced at the BOSS XVII Symposium (July 3 – 8, 2022) and in the scientific press.
  • Nominations are confidential.


  • The Janssen Prize Jury is comprised of the President and seven members who are experts in the field of organic chemistry.
  • The President is appointed for six years and cannot be re-elected.
  • Two members of the jury are replaced every other year by two new members, taking into account seniority, diversity and geographical distribution.
  • At least one member of the jury is of Belgian nationality or is employed full time in Belgium.
  • The jury votes by mail. The jury’s award decision will be submitted to the Janssen R&D Discovery Chemistry leadership team, which will approve and formally announce the name of the award winner.

More info on:

Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis 2020

Prof. Phil Baran (The Scripps Research Institute, United States) has been designated by the Jury as the winner of the 2020 Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis. 

Professor Baran’s transformative contributions and accomplishments in the field of organic synthesis center on the complexity of the synthetic challenges he addresses, the innovative solutions he develops, the speed at which he successfully accomplishes these transformations, and the industry-wide applicability of his approach (find out more here).

Due to the postponement of the symposum, Professor Baran will be invited to deliver a keynote lecture on July 7, 2022 & he will receive a trophy and certificate from Janssen Prize jury president B. Feringa and Percy Carter, Global Head, Discovery Sciences, Janssen Research & Development.

Awardees of the Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis

  • 2018 - D. Toste (University of California, US)
  • 2016 - D. MacMillan (Princeton University, US)
  • 2014 - J.F. Hartwig (UC Berkeley, US)
  • 2012 - I. Marek (Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, IL)
  • 2010 - E. Jacobsen (Harvard University, US)
  • 2008 - A. Fürstner (MPI für Kohlenforschung, DE)
  • 2004 - P. Knochel (Ludwig-Maximilians-University, DE)
  • 2002 - D. Boger (Scripps Institute, US)
  • 2000 - F. Diederich (ETH Zürich, CH)
  • 1998 - D.P. Curran (University of Pittsburgh, US)
  • 1996 - S. Ley (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • 1994 - K.C. Nicolaou (Scripps Research Institute and University of California, US)
  • 1992 - P.D. Magnus (Texas University, US)
  • 1990 - B.M. Trost (Stanford University, US)
  • 1988 - J.E. Baldwin (Oxford University, UK)
  • 1986 - K.B. Sharpless (MIT, US)