18th Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium

 Liège, Belgium    June 30-July 5, 2024

Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis

Prof. Melanie S. Sanford (University of Michigan) has been selected as the winner of the 2024 Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis.

Prof. Melanie S. Sanford is a highly creative scientist and a world leader in the fields of organic synthesis and catalysis. She has made outstanding contributions in developing novel methods for C-H functionalization and fluorination, in mechanistic studies of high valent organometallic complexes, and in designing organic electrolytes for redox flow batteries as modern energy storage systems.

She will be recognized and deliver a keynote lecture at the BOSS XVIII in Liège, Belgium, June 30 - July 5, 2024.

She is the first female winner in the Prize’s 30+ year history. Find out more about her significant contributions to the field here.

The Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis is awarded every other year by Johnson & Johnson in conjunction with the Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium to an organic chemist who has made a significant contribution to the field of organic synthesis. The prize consists of a medal, a citation as well as 20.000 Euros.

Awardees of the Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis:

  • 2022 - F. Glorius (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, DE)
  • 2020 - P. Baran (The Scripps Research Institute, USA)
  • 2018 - D. Toste (University of California, USA)
  • 2016 - D. MacMillan (Princeton University, USA)
  • 2014 - J.F. Hartwig (UC Berkeley, USA)
  • 2012 - I. Marek (Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, IL)
  • 2010 - E. Jacobsen (Harvard University, USA)
  • 2008 - A. Fürstner (MPI für Kohlenforschung, DE)
  • 2004 - P. Knochel (Ludwig-Maximilians-University, DE)
  • 2002 - D. Boger (Scripps Institute, USA)
  • 2000 - F. Diederich (ETH Zürich, CH)
  • 1998 - D.P. Curran (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • 1996 - S. Ley (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • 1994 - K.C. Nicolaou (Scripps Research Institute and University of California, USA)
  • 1992 - P.D. Magnus (Texas University, USA)
  • 1990 - B.M. Trost (Stanford University, USA)
  • 1988 - J.E. Baldwin (Oxford University, UK)
  • 1986 - K.B. Sharpless (MIT, USA)

More info on: